La Paz – How to steal an iPhone with a clump of dirt, molten-metal fortune telling, a dislocated shoulder on the World’s Most Dangerous Road, and the controversial Evo Morales

In order to get to La Paz from Copacabana you must ferry across el Estrecho de Tiquina (the Tiquina Strait), a strait that connects the north and south part of Lake Titicaca.

003

The ferry action isn’t just to bring people to a bus waiting on the other side. There is a separate ferry to bring the bus you were riding on.

004

I don’t think I had ever seen so many buses crossing a body of water without a bridge in my life. But there were many firsts for me in Bolivia.

My second stomach-borne illness in Bolivia was wrecking havoc on me by the time we arrived in La Paz but the crew kept my spirits up, especially with funny moments like this: packing 8 backpackers and all their bags into a taxi-van that was way too small.

"There’s no more room!"   "It’s ok, just pile all the bags on Jose!"

“There’s no more room!”
“It’s ok, just pile all the bags on Jose!”

It reminded me of the rides in South Asia, except the ride wasn’t 14 hours on a winding mountain road with people throwing up all around me.

La Paz is the hilliest capital city I visited in South America, with the Cordillera Real de los Andes mountain range surrounding the city.

021 The hilly streets take their toll on normal pedestrians but they were especially demanding for me because I was weak with fatigue from my stomach illness.

Bolivia is so committed to being modern that the word has been etched all over the city

Bolivia is so committed to being modern that the word has been etched all over the city

My crew wanted to have some fun so they all checked into Wild Rover Hostel, a well-known party hostel in La Paz. Knowing my chances were slim-to-none to get some restful sleep at Wild Rover, I opted to check into the nicer hostel across the street.

2 thoughts on “La Paz – How to steal an iPhone with a clump of dirt, molten-metal fortune telling, a dislocated shoulder on the World’s Most Dangerous Road, and the controversial Evo Morales

  1. Pingback: Córdoba – An electronoics heist using only a gallon of yogurt, the art of Argentine asado, homemade wine, mate and Fernet Branca, Argentina’s drinks of choice | mattbrowntown

Leave a Reply

